Home > Java, Performance > Free toolset for JMS tests released

Free toolset for JMS tests released

In 1996 I worked with IBM MQ Series using OS/2 and CICS. That was the first time I worked with performance tuning for messaging. Since then I have been involved in many projects with the same basic goal: make sure it works correctly (no lost messages under any circumstances) and make it fast. It has never been my full-time job, but as a consultant I have been there and done that a few times now. The more memorable have been webMethods, AQ, HornetQ, ActiveMQ/AMQ and (again) AQ. Every time I have ended up writing my own tools. Yes, every time. So, I’ll do it again, but this time I’ll release the code and make it work for as many JMS providers as possible. Or at least the ones I need.

You can find the project, now in 1.0, at GitHub. If you find it useful, please let me know. One major benefit of making the code open source is that the vendors always need to reproduce any issues on their own. With an open source tool that is easier. A widely used tool is even better, as it has some credibility from the start, so spread the word (and the code)!

If I have time during the summer I will write a series of posts on how to use the tools. Let me know if there is anything in particular I should cover!

Categories: Java, Performance
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

