Home > Linux, Networking > Stupid network issues

Stupid network issues

Why do all network cards work with Windows, but not with Linux or BSD? Well, whatever. I spent a lot of time this summer trying to get two Internet connections from the same Linux box for high availability. No luck, worked for a while and then failed. Just found out that the built-in network interface from Sundance shuts down under moderate load on Linux. That explains why it didn’t work.

Now I want to use the same box for a DMZ. We have a smart TV and I don’t trust it at all. It needs Internet access, but I won’t allow it anywhere near anything important. I don’t trust my phone (unfortunately) and I certainly won’t trust a TV!

Fortunately the Linux box has one free PCI-e slot, so this should be easy. Just install a new network card and go! Well, not quite. I hate VIA on Linux. I bought two network cards as the first failed to deliver, but the final solution was to add some boot options to grub: pci=nomsi,noaer.

There are still warnings about interrupts that nobody cares about (irqpoll might help, but increases power consumption), but for now it seems to work.

Categories: Linux, Networking
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

